GP Crew Update

If you are a GP in South Eastern Sydney, GP Crew is your representative organisation. We are one of the GP member networks of CESPHN and represent GPs in the following postcodes: 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2024, 2031, 2032, 2033, 2034, 2035, 2036. It is now a requirement that you join your local GP organisation to be eligible for free attendance at PHN educational events.

Our role is to advocate for our member GPs on several PHN committees, liaise with local hospitals on your behalf and foster professional and social relationships between GPs. We believe we need to come together to facilitate connections between each other and keep general practice at the forefront of health care.

In 2016, we had a wonderful weekend away in the Southern Highlands with GPs and partners. We enjoyed some interesting speakers and had a great time connecting with other GPs. We are planning some more amazing events this year (2017) including weekends away and some more educational evenings. Our first weekend away for members will be held on Saturday and Sunday 18 - 19 March at Crowne Plaza, Terrigal. Our annual end of year dinner/AGM is always a great night. All our events are subsidised by GP Crew (to a much greater value than your membership fee)!

Our main areas of concern for this year are improving communications to and from Prince of Wales Hospital and reinstating small group learning by the PHN. Prince of Wales Hospital is our primary local hospital and there is much room for improvement from a GP perspective, ranging from quality of discharge summaries, access to clinics and communication with GPs.

We would also love to see HealthPathways developed in our area as it is in central Sydney.

You can get involved by joining GP Crew and attending our events. Visit the CESPHN website and click on ‘GP network membership information’ to join online or email CESPHN’s Member Support and Engagement, Program Officer Sue Moxon or call her on 9799 0933. You can also contact the GP Crew Directors at our practices.

Dr Hilton Shapiro (Chair), Dr Cedric Meyerowitz (Vice President/Treasurer),
Dr Naomi Jacobs (Director) and Dr Louise Hudson (Director), GP Crew.