Community Council

 The Community Council advises the Board on: 
  • how to ensure decisions, investments, and innovations are person-centred, cost effective,locally relevant and aligned to local care experiences and expectations
  • service gaps
  • the integration of consumer, carer and community views into levels of primary health service
  • operations, planning and policy development
  • advocacy on behalf of the community, consumers and carers
  • how to increase consumer, carer and community participation in the Central and EasternSydney PHN region.

The Community Council comprises consumers, community representatives, and others with strong experience in the intersection of primary care and the community.

Click here to get to know our Community Council members on page 30 of our Primary Health Quarterly magazine. 


Ms Sharlene McKenzie 

Director of Aboriginal Services, 3Bridges 

Deputy Chair:

Ms Liz Yeo 

CEO, Newtown Neighbourhood Centre 


Mr Anton Mayne 

Consumer advocate 

Mr Ben Steele 

Community member 

Ms Cheryl Brady 

Community Partnerships Officer, Population and Community Health, SESLHD

Mr Christian Mcnally 

Senior Support Advisor, Home and Community Care, Uniting NSW/ ACT 

Ms Emma Dickins 

Integrated Care Lead, Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network 

Ms Janet Green 

General Manager, The Junction Neighbourhood Centre 

Ms Jenny Smith 

Mental health consumer 

Mr Joseph Lonn 

Training Services Development Manager, ACON 

Ms Julie McCarthy 

Community member 

Ms Julie Millard 

Credentialed mental health nurse 

Ms Kate Melhopt 

CEO, South Eastern Community Connect 

Ms Lucy Klippan 

Consumer and Community Participation Coordinator, St Vincent’s Health Network 

Mr Peter Valpiani 

CEO, Haymarket Foundation 

Mr Shane Jakupec

Regional Manager, Neami National 

Terms of Reference: 

The CESPHN Community Council Terms of Reference can be found here.